Good Stuff

Avery is having another good day.    She is such a strong little girl.    I tried to take her temperature today, which has to be done by holding a thin sensor stick between her arm and her body.   She pushed me away forcefully with strength well beyond her age.   Good stuff!

Beautiful Avery fighting sleep with tired eyes so she can enjoy our visit. (Check out her teeny tiny pacifier above her hand.)

Quin had surgery for his hand yesterday afternoon to reconnect the ligament between the thumb and first finger.  The surgeon said it went very well.   He still can’t feel his thumb or first finger but they said it’s typical for it to take time for the anesthesia to wear off completely, and it’s wrapped tightly from his thumb to his elbow.   He had it done at Commonwealth Orthopaedics, which is an absolutely beautiful group of angels, disguised as physicians, anesthesiologists, and staff.

Because we are both still wearing two hospital bracelets and the tiny warrior bands, “angel” Scott (IV guy) asked about removing them before Quin’s surgery.  Quin briefly shared the reasons that he did not want to take them off (which they ended up not making him do) and subsequently, the entire staff became interested in our story and kept coming by the surgical prep area to talk with us and hear about our girls.   After treating us both with immense kindness and (I do not exaggerate here) making us feel that healing is inevitable for both Quin and Avery, they proceeded to let me curl up in a recovery chair to wait for him, and handed me a brain numbing magazine and a warm blanket.   Less than an hour after taking him back to surgery, Quin was wheeled out with lots of smiles on the staff’s faces.  They were all laughing about singing Prince’s, “Purple Rain” in the operating room and that “most people take at least another 30 minutes to wake up and recover from the anesthesia — he must be one heck of a strong man.”  Yep.   That’s an affirmative.  Like father, like daughter.   Good stuff!

As we got ready to exit the building, at 4pm on a Friday afternoon in Northern Virginia (the land of the high speed professional) the entire remaining staff of the Commonwealth staff (including nurses and staff we had not met earlier that day) came over to us, gave us hugs and said, “We hear that you’re collecting money for the March of Dimes.”   When we nodded, they opened their wallets and palms and handed us all the cash they had inside.  The anesthesiologist had written us a check for the donation.   My reaction was one of shock and awe.   I’m still shaking my head at how beautiful and special that moment was.  It restored a part of my soul and deepened my faith.   Good stuff!

Between a morning trip to the hospital to see our glorious and strong girl Avery, a very painful trip to the funeral home to sign paperwork and kiss our baby girl Sienna’s ‘earth vessel’ one final time, Quin’s surgery, and a wonderful visit with my special step-daughter, Maddie, and Maddie’s beloved, ‘Auntie Suzanne’ (my dear friend), trips to the pharmacy for pain medicine for Quin, and another late night trip back to the NICU to visit wide-eyed and happy Avery, it was a very long day.  I’m definitely running on empty.    Actually, a more accurate phrase would be, “walking slowly on empty.”    I did finally get a nap in this afternoon and will try to get to bed at a decent hour tonight…   there’s lots of long days ahead.

We ran into parents we know from the NICU this morning as we left the hospital and they were walking into the NICU for the last time — their little warrior son is going home today after many long, difficult months.   Hallelujah.   We felt such sincere joy in our hearts for them all!   They were leaving the hospital and going to go surprise Grandma, who didn’t know he was coming home today.  Good stuff!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good Stuff

  1. Gene Roggenkamp says:

    We got the bracelets today. Thank you so very much. Mine won’t come off until I hold Avery in my arms. Hope you don’t mind. We have shared your story with friends of ours out here in Arizona. One young man and his wife are expecting their first child in November. He really has taken a deep interest in our tiny warrior, asked for the blog and our e-mails just to keep in touch. I am trying to learn how to make a sweater for Avery. I can make big things with little stitches, but making things that have to be put together is really hard for me. Puzzles not so much, but lining up stitches to sew them together so they don’t look like a big knot is really hard. OKay, maybe not so hard, just intense for someone who likes to have a completed project. It will be ready for her when she comes home. We love and miss you all. Give Maddie and Avery a kiss for us. Oh, and give Riley an extra bone or ball to chew on.

  2. Jenny Jones says:

    God bless you all, there are still good people in this world. Praying.

  3. Angel Roggenkamp says:

    I am waiting for my bracelettes still. I know Quintin said it would be a week or so buy, i can hardly wait to wear it. Dear Robin, I am so proud of the both of you. I ahave learned so much from this bitter sweet expeience and it has made me a better person. God bless you. I was in the hospital today for a Gall bladder attck. Sieeting in the ER I told my husband I just want to be home. As home to me is the only way I can hear about Avery and look at Sienna, I hurt still for her loss, I think I might always feel that way, I love you both

  4. Stacey Slone says:

    Last night Keith & I attended the local McDazzle Gala for the Ronald McDonald House here in Lexington. The “Legacy of Love” award was presented to a neonatologist at UK. Her smallest preemie was born at 29 weeks and weighed 14 ounces at birth. He is now a normal, active 3 year old little boy. He and his parents were at the gala last night and he presented Dr. Desai with her award. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house! I thought of you guys and little Avery fighting so bravely! Prayer, Faith and Hope. . . Avery will be an active 3 year old in 2013!

    Please send us 4 of your wristbands.

  5. Sharon Boisvert says:

    Good Stuff you are right. I am so glad that you can see the Good Stug with all that has happened. Sleep tight

  6. Diane Sheridan says:

    All 12 bracelets have been handed out and we are waiting for more when you get them. Aunt Stephanie said that Avery is a fighter like Brooke and I agree with her. We are all still praying for all of you, and happy that Quin’s surgery went well. I truly believe that Avery Rose will be a healthy happy 3 year old in 2013. Prayers and love are being sent your way by so many people. Stay strong and (Robin) keep smiling it will give Quin and Avery (and the doctors and nurses) all of the strength they need.

  7. Nancy Musser says:

    It was wonderful to check the blog today and see the title “Good Stuff”! I started crying immediately (in happiness)! So glad for Avery’s good days and progress. I can’t wait to see her and am hoping that will be soon! Glad Quin’s surgery went well, too! Love you both…and the Musser Family is proudly sporting our bracelets! The kids will wear them tomorrow on their first day of school and Mareena is already excited to tell the class about “her” new baby Avery and her special angel, Sienna!! xo

  8. Cherie says:

    Thinking of all of you, recovering from surgeries & Avery gaining strength every day! Such good news! Rest is important for more great exhausting days ahead… xoxo

  9. Rebecca (Hill) McKown says:

    I would like to have at least 3 bracelets. Robin, does your mom have any back here in Wirt Co? I know that when I start wearing them, there will likely be others interested. March of Dimes is the one charity that I love sending money to, even though my babies were born perfectly healthy. I am so glad to hear the good news about Avery.

Leave a Reply

