Two pounds!

Avery is now up to 1 cc of food every hour and weighed in today at 2 lbs!   This sounds so strange to be celebrating two pounds, but we were so happy to hear the news.   (Perhaps you would also have to be a NICU parent of a <2 lb baby to feel this as deeply as we do, but it’s a very significant step forward.)  Quin was smiling from ear to ear.

This morning I got to give our ‘karate-kicking princess’ one of her baths (moistened wipes and drops of baby soap), while her Daddy smiled, took pictures, and paced back and forth asking, “what can I do?  what can I do?”    I’m so blessed to have such a feisty daughter and such a wonderful husband who lights up when asked by the nurses if he wants to change her diaper or give her a bath.

We just may, in fact, be the happiest parents on the earth to change a wet/dirty diaper…

We love and appreciate you all so very much.  Please continue to pray for our baby girl, Avery, and her guardian angel, Sienna.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Two pounds!

  1. joaquin and sarah says:

    That is such good news! We are so happy! No Slack, Avery!!

  2. Erin and Steven Shillingburg says:

    WOOHOO!! 2lbs! fatten up little girl!

    Still praying,
    Erin

  3. Reed Engdahl says:

    This is truly fantastic news! Keep up the faith.

  4. Jen Klima says:

    That is great news as I know every ounce counts! We got our bracelets in the mail… thank you!! The five of us are proudly wearing them. Eddie and Cal love reading the blog along with me and especially love looking at the pictures of beautiful Avery. We can’t wait to meet her!!!

  5. Angel Roggenkamp says:

    I was so happy when Quintin texted me 2lbs… I think that is great news. I will continue the prayers for all of you.Avery gets many prayers everday. Sienna gets special prayers to keep her sister strong. Maddie gets prayers for being such a big sister. And you and Quintin get those prayers that will continue to keep you strong, brave and keep the faith

  6. Rhonda angel says:

    I got my beautiful bird nest necklace in the mail today from heidi and wanted to thank you again for your thoughtfulness. My little boy was quite taken with it and enjoyed hearing about your babies. He likes to hear about the babies at work to, he always asks there names and how little they are. He’s been praying for them when he says his bedtime prayers.

  7. Robin Hall says:

    Robin and Quinn, congrats on Avery’s milestone. What a strong little angel she is. I would like to donate for the bands, Robin, please get in touch with me so I can submit my orders.

  8. Diane Sheridan says:

    Two pounds is a great reason to celebrate, I remember that day (30 years ago). Brooke wasn’t as small as Avery at birth but she went down to 1 lb. 13oz. …so 2lbs. was and IS a big deal. It’s amazing how strong they are when they are so tiny! Still praying for all of you! Love you all. Aunt Diane and Brooke

  9. Susan Lennon says:

    This is such wonderful news. Although I don’t know either of you I think you are both two amazing individuals and am pleased to be able to share in your journey. Avery is blessed little girl and so lucky to have Sienna as her angel.

Leave a Reply

